Two first-place finishes for Canada at Beker Regatta

rowingCanada finished at the top of the podium in two events on the final day of the Koninklijke Holland Beker in Amsterdam, Netherlands on Sunday (June 30).

Nick Pratt of Kingston won the lightweight men’s single in 7:05.88, dominating the whole race, with a Dutch rower coming in second in 7:13.12, followed by a sculler from Hong Kong in 7:15.64.

Women’s four won in 06:29.70, over the Netherlands with a time of 06:31.83. This crew is Natalie Mastracci of Thorold, Sarah Black of Ottawa, Christine Roper of Victoria, BC, and Cristy Nurse of Georgetown. Mastracci is a silver medalist from the 2012 Olympics, and Nurse was an alternate for that same crew.

The women’s eight, a crew that won on the Bosbaan course Saturday, finished second (6:05.27) on Sunday to New Zealand (6:03.60). This Canadian crew includes members of the four and is Nurse, Roper, Black, Mastracci, Susanne Grainger (London), Carolyn Ganes (Saskatoon), Jen Martins (Toronto), Lisa Roman (Vancouver), and coxswain Kristen Kit (St. Catharines).

In the men’s four final, Canada was second (heavyweights) and fifth (lightweights) in the same race. The Netherlands won in 05:55.71, followed by Canada in 6:00.17. The heavyweight crew is Spencer Crowley (Lantzville, BC), Steve Van Knotsenburg (Beamsville), Will Dean (Kelowna, BC) and Olympic medalist Will Crothers (Kingston).

The lightweights were not far off the pace at 6:06.84. Canada’s lightweight men’s four, rowing in this open weight event, is Rares Crisan (Mississauga), Brendan Hodge (Delta, BC) , Eric Woelfl (St. Catharines), and Graham Schenck (St. Catharines).

The women’s pair (Ganes and Grainger) was second in 7:20.46. The Netherlands was first in the women’s pair in 07:09.34.

The men’s quad was also second. The Canadian quad is Jamie Abbass (Happy Valley – Goose Bay, NFLD), Mike Braithwaite (Duncan, BC), Kevin Kowalyk (Winnipeg), and Matthew Buie (Duntroon, ON). Their time was 05:53.57, compared with the home-country crew winning in 5:45.78.

The women’s double also finished second on Sunday. Emily Cameron (Summerside, PEI) and Kerry Shaffer (Welland) had a time of 6:54.48, with New Zealand winning in 6:46.91, and another Kiwi crew coming in third in 6:55.48.

The women’s quad was third again today. This crew is Antje Von Seydlitz (Smithers, BC), Alyssa Weninger (Unity, SK), Rosie DeBoef (Victoria, BC), and Kate Goodfellow (Ottawa). The Netherlands took the lead before the halfway mark and won convincingly in 6:19.44, followed by New Zealand in 6:23.03 and Canada in 6:25.93.

Olympian Patricia Obee of Victoria finished third overall in the lightweight single today in 7:44.77; New Zealand again won this event in 7:41.19.
The Canadian men’s double – Mike Harowicz (Oakville) and Josh Morris (Victoria, BC) – was sixth overall.

The next major event for Canada’s senior team is the World Cup 3 in Lucerne, Switzerland, in two weeks.