Ancaster Avalanche open regular season Sept. 7

Ancaster-Avs-200pxThe Ancaster Avalanche will take a two-game unbeaten exhibition record into this weekend’s Port Colborne tournament as a tune-up to the start of the Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League regular season.

The Avalanche, who played as the Stoney Creek Warriors last season, play their first tournament game on Friday (Aug. 23) against the Buffalo Junior Blades at 6 p.m. Saturday they take on the host Port Colborne Pirates at 11:30 a.m. and then go up against Brampton Bombers at 4:30 p.m. The tournament’s championship will be played at noon on Sunday.

The Avs will resume their Junior B training camp on Tuesday (Aug. 27) and the next day from 8-10 p.m. at their home, the Morgan Firestone Arena.

On Thursday (Aug. 29), the Avs will play their final pre-season game at home against the Guelph Hurricanes at 7:30 p.m. The two clubs will play a re-match the next night at Guelph.

Meanwhile, the Avalanche’s schedule for the 2013-14 campaign will see Ancaster at home to each of the other eight teams in the Golden Horseshoe Conference three times before playoffs for the Captain James T. Sutherland Cup start in February. This year the conference consists of the Buffalo Blades, Caledonia Pro Fit Corvairs, Fort Erie Meteors, Niagara Falls Canucks, Port Colborne Pirates, St. Catharines Falcons, Thorold Blackhawks, and the Welland Junior Canadians.

Ancaster will begin regular season play with a home-and-home series against Buffalo on Sept. 7 in Ancaster and in Buffalo on Tuesday (Sept. 10).

Avs’ coach and general manager Ryan Kuwabara is optimistic about the new campaign.

“We are excited about this season,” said Kuwabara. “We had a very young team last season, but now we have older players with more experience, and we will be better.”

As the Warriors, the team finished with an 16-26-7 record last season.

The following is Ancaster’s 2013-14 home schedule. All games start at 7.30 p.m., at the Morgan Firestone Arena:

Buffalo, Saturday, Sept. 7.
Thorold, Saturday, Sept. 14.
St. Catharines, Saturday, Sept 21.
Port Colborne, Saturday, Sept 28.
Fort Erie, Thursday, Oct. 3.
Caledonia, Thursday, Oct. 10.
Niagara Falls, Saturday, Oct. 19.
Thorold, Saturday, Oct.26.
Welland, Saturday, Nov. 2.
Caledonia, Saturday, Nov. 9.
Port Colborne, Saturday, Nov. 16.
Fort Erie, Thursday, Nov. 21.
Buffalo, Saturday, Nov. 30.
Welland, Saturday, Dec. 7.
Port Colborne, Saturday, Dec. 14.
St. Catharines, Saturday, Dec. 21.
Buffalo, Saturday, Dec. 28.
St. Catharines, Saturday, Jan. 11.
Thorold, Saturday, Jan. 18.
Niagara Falls, Saturday, Jan. 25.
Fort Erie, Thursday, Jan. 30.
Welland, Saturday, Feb. 8.
Caledonia, Saturday, Feb. 15.
Niagara Falls, Saturday, Feb. 22.

Season Tickets are now on sale. Special season-long reserved seating is being offered for adults at $150, and $75 for children, students, and seniors. Single game pricing is $8 for adults and $5 for children, students, and seniors.

For a full schedule, season ticket order forms, and sponsorship and advertising information, visit