Hamilton Cards scoop up all-star selections

ibl logoFour members of the Hamilton Cardinals were named Intercounty Baseball League’s all-stars on Tuesday (Sept. 3). The four selections were the third most for any team in the IBL with the Barrie Baycats leading the way with nine players while the Brantford Red Sox had five players selected.

Johnathan Solazzo was named to the First Team at third base. In 23 regular season games, he had a batting average of .368 while bringing in 23 runs. Of his 32 hits during the season 17 were for extra bases including eight home runs. Solazzo also pitched in nine other games and posted a 0.79 ERA with a record of two wins, a loss and a save.

Earlier, he was named the 2013 Fanz Choice Hamilton Cardinals Player of the Year.

Manager Matt Fortuna was also named to the first team all-stars. After finishing the 2012 season in last place with just six wins, Fortuna and his staff turned the club around and finished in sixth place with a 16-26 record.

Brett van Pelt earned selection to the Second Team all-stars in the left-handed pitcher category, tied with Barrie’s Brad Bissell. Van Pelt pitched in 15 games, second most appearances on the team in the regular season, and started in nine of those games. He led all Cardinals’ pitchers with 34 strikeouts.

He was also named the 2013 Fanz Choice Hamilton Cardinals Pitcher of the Year.

Dan Jagdeo was named to the 2013 Second Team as the designated hitter. Jagdeo had a .294 batting average and led the team with nine home runs and 29 RBIs.

Sean Reilly of the Toronto Maple Leafs was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Reilly takes home the John Bell Memorial Trophy as the IBL’s MVP, as voted on by the league’s managers. Kitchener outfielder Tanner Nivins is the winner of the Brian Kerr Memorial Trophy as the league’s top rookie.

First Team

1B -Jordan Castaldo, Barrie (21).
2B – Josh Garton, Guelph (33)
3B – Johnathan Solazzo, Hamilton (31)
SS – Lee Delfino, Brantford (29)
OF- Tanner Nivins, Kitchener (33)
OF – Glenn Jackson, Toronto (25)
OF – Jeff Pietraszko, Kitchener (24)
C – Kyle DeGrace, Barrie (25)
RHP – Jamie Richmond, Brantford (33)
LHP – Adam Rowe, Barrie (19)
DH – Sean Reilly, Toronto (35)*
MGR – Matt Fortuna, Hamilton (31)

Second Team

1B – Jon Waltenbury, Toronto (19)
2B – Tyler Burnell, Brantford (14)
3B – Kevin Atkinson, Barrie (24)
SS – Jason Coker, Barrie (18)
OF – Josh McCurdy, Brantford (21)
OF – Ryan Lapensee, London (15)
OF – Adwin Springer, London (14), Ryan Spataro, Barrie (14),
C – Rick Murray, Kitchener (19)
RHP – Cory Hammond, London (9)
LHP – Brad Bissell, Barrie (16), Brett van Pelt, Hamilton (16)
DH – Daniel Jagdeo, Hamilton (20)
MGR – Angus Roy, Barrie (11), Adam Clarke, Brantford (11)

*denotes unanimous decision

Voting is done on a 5-3 basis, with a first place vote worth five points, and a second place vote worth three.