Oldershaw, 18 others to represent Canada at canoe marathons

Mark Oldershaw at the 2012 London Games (Photo: COC/Jason Ransom)

Mark Oldershaw at the 2012 London Games (Photo: COC/Jason Ransom)

The 2013 ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships are set to get underway on Friday (Sept. 20) in Copenhagen, Denmark and Canadian paddlers are ready to show their endurance over races of up to 30.1 kilometres that include several portages. Fifteen Canadian paddlers will compete at the ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships through to Sunday, while four Canadians will race at the Master’s Championships on Wednesday and Thursday.

The team roster includes three Olympians from the canoe sprint discipline. Olympic bronze medallist Mark Oldershaw of Burlington will be racing a course of 28.5 kilometres with six portages. That’s a distance 28.5 times longer than his 1,000 metre Olympic specialty. Oldershaw has already shown his endurance abilities on the international scene this year and won a bronze medal in the C1 5,000m at the World Championships on Sept. 1.

Émilie Fournel, a 2008 and 2012 Olympian from Lachine, QC, will race the Women’s K1 on Saturday. Tamlyn Bohm of Toronto, will race the Women’s K1 as well. She posted the Canadian team’s top marathon result in 2012 and 2013 with sixth and 11th place finishes, respectively. On Sunday, Fournel and Bohm will team up to race K2, making for a total weekend race distance of over 50 kilometres.

Jason Rusu of Calgary is a 1992 Olympian and will race the Senior Men’s K1 on Saturday along with former National Team member Dave Anderson of Winnipeg. The two will team up to race K2 on Sunday.

Jan Malherbe (Duncan, BC), Michael Thomas (Quebec, QC), and Richard Macdonald (Quebec, QC) will also race in the senior men’s kayak class. Jon Pike of Dartmouth, NS will join Oldershaw at the start line for the Men’s C1.

Junior competitors include Eric Slamen (Richmond Hill, ON), Mark Marschalko (Halifax), Zach Morgan (Kamloops, BC) and Keiffer Johnson (Kamloops, BC). Neil Lang (Waverley, NS) and Frank Desrosier (Ottawa) will compete in the Under 23 men’s kayak class. The four Canadian Masters at the competition include Darryl Bohm (Toronto), Robert Lang (Rothsay, NB), Marc Nemec (Richmond Hill) and Fridrich Lederer (Vancouver).