Mohawk duo share 13th in OCAA golf

Golf_ball_resting_near_fairway_woodPARIS – Two Mohawk players struggled compared to round one, but are still doing well at the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association Golf Championships after the second of three rounds.

Jair Saenz carded an eight-over par 80 on Tuesday (Oct. 1) and Michael Rizzetto shot 81, leaving them both at plus-11 for the championship and in a tie for 13th place in the field of 60 men at the Paris Grand Country Club.

Other second round scores for Mohawk included Eric Stuebing (81), Cameron Garon (82) and Brendan Lewis (84).

Mohawk’s lone woman, Jessica Fell, shot 110 in round two.

A pair of sub-70 rounds have put Humber College athletes in control of championships.

Christian McCullough’s bogey-free round of 68 has given the Mississauga native a two-stroke lead over Humber teammate Alex Dumais (Caledon), who fired a 69 on Tuesday (Oct. 1). McCullough is now minus-four for the tournament after posting a first round score of 72 on Monday.

Dumais, a two-time OCAA individual bronze medalist, shot a 73 on Monday and is minus-two after 36 holes. Five Humber golfers take up the top seven positions on the leader board, including Scott Benzoni (Oakville) in fourth, Cole Kent (Peterborough) in a tie for fifth and Ben McFaul (Oakville) in seventh. Benzoni, Kent and McFaul are eight, 10 and 11 strokes behind McCullough, respectively.

As a team, Humber is well in front with a two-day total score of 580, twenty-one strokes ahead of its closest competitor, Georgian College. Niagara College sits third at 618, and Seneca College is fourth at 630. Humber has won seven consecutive men’s golf titles, but it can make history with an eighth banner, tying the longest title streak for any OCAA sport, set by Mohawk College in women’s cross country in the 1980s.

Defending OCAA men’s champion Colton Kalkanis (Hillsdale) is in third place, carding a second-round score of 75. He along with Georgian teammate Alex Wilson (Orangeville) were the clubhouse leaders after Day 1 with rounds of 71. Wilson fell back with a second-round score of 79, and is tied with Kent for fifth spot. Georgian’s Michel Sonnenburg (Massey) is a dozen strokes back, tied for eighth with Niagara’s Brody Gauthier (Cambridge), and 2011 OCAA individual bronze medalist Brennan Smith (Ottawa) of St. Lawrence College, Kingston Campus.

After posting the top women’s score of 83 on Monday, Humber’s Adrienne D’Alessio (Woodbridge) followed this up with a top Tuesday score of 79, putting her 11 strokes ahead of Georgian’s Chole Wells (Mississauga), who rebounded with an 82 after Monday’s 91. Several ladies are still in medal contention, including 2012 individual silver medalist Heather McKenzie (Essex) of St. Clair College, who is currently in the bronze position three strokes behind Wells with a two-day total of 176.

Other potential medalists include Georgian’s Cory Pond (Simcoe) 177, St. Clair’s Jordan Schatz (LaSalle) at 180, Humber’s Candice Campbell (Corunna) at 181, and 2012 individual bronze medalist Ashley Unrau (St. Thomas) of St. Clair at 184.

Three women’s teams are jockeying in medal position, including Humber (343), Georgian (350) and St. Clair (360).

The final round of the 54-hole tournament will take place on Wednesday. This year’s provincials are hosted by Wilfrid Laurier University-Brantford.

Golfers represent 15 Ontario college campuses, including Centennial, Confederation, Durham, Fanshawe, Fleming, Georgian, Humber, Mohawk, Niagara, St. Clair, St. Lawrence (Brockville, Cornwall and Kingston), and Seneca.

The tournament consists of three 18-hole rounds, weather permitting. The male and female player posting the lowest gross score through 54 holes will earn their respective individual championship.

Men’s teams consist of four or five golfers, with the top four individual scores of each round contributing to the total team score. Women’s teams consist of two or three golfers, with the top two individual scores of each round contributing to their total score. Schools with the lowest aggregate of gross scores after 54 holes win the respective team titles.