Cardinals Fortuna hits executive homerun

ibl_cardinals_thumbHamilton Cardinals general manager Mike Fortuna has been named the Intercounty Baseball League’s Executive of the Year.

The award, along with the David E. Hastings trophy, is voted upon by each member club’s executive.

During his first season as the GM of the Cardinals, Fortuna recruited some local young talent to compliment the returning veterans to take the 2013 version of the team from a last place a year ago to a fifth place finish in the eight-team loop.

“It’s an honour to be chosen the Executive of the Year by my fellow executives in my first year,” said Fortuna.

Fortuna is only the third Hamilton executive since 1981 to win the award. The others were Ralph Stewart (1985) and Brian Hanson (1999).