Cape, Ventre named OUA tennis all-stars

tennis-net-closeup-f4The University of Toronto Varsity Blues and Western Mustangs were crowned the 2013 Ontario University Athletics women’s and men’s tennis champions, respectively, at the recent Mayfair Parkway Tennis Club in Markham.

The women’s title is the 10th in program history for the Varsity Blues and the first since winning four in a row from 2004-07. The Mustangs, meanwhile, won their second straight men’s title.

Valerie Ushanova of the York Lions was selected as the female player of the year. The Etobicoke native took home the silver medal after being edged by Montréal’s Kim Polisois (Longueuil, Que.) 7-6, 7-5 in the top flight final. This is Ushanova’s second consecutive player of the year award. Polisois and Ushanova both earned all-star recognition for their performances.

York swept the women’s major awards as a fellow Lion was voted rookie of the year. Richmond Hill native Sonia Glushkovsky performed well in her first OUA championship, fighting her way to the flight five singles final before losing to Toronto’s Helen Goreski (Toronto) 6-3, 6-4.

Nabil Tadros of the Toronto Varsity Blues is the OUA women’s coach of the year. As a long-time head coach of the Varsity Blues tennis program, Tadros has led the Blues to 16 OUA men’s and women’s tennis titles since 1984.

Toronto’s Steffi Wong (Unionville), Western’s Marni Venter (Fonthill), York’s Julia Kedrzycki (Kleinburg) and Toronto’s Jenny Cape (Oakville) were also selected to the OUA all-star team.

On the men’s side, Toronto’s Zain Manji (Ajax) is the OUA player of the year. In the top flight singles final, Manji won the gold medal with a 6-2, 2-6, 6-3 victory over Vincent Chan (Markham) of the Waterloo Warriors. Manji and Chan were both named to the all-star team.

Waterloo’s John Chan is the OUA men’s rookie of the year. The Whistler, B.C., native was bested in the third slight singles final by Montreal’s Jonathan Rioux (Montréal, Que.) 6-3, 0-6, 6-3. Chan is also an all-star.

Western’s coaching team of Cameron Cross and Anthony Glavanic share the men’s coach of the year award for the second consecutive season after leading the Mustangs to their second team title in as many years.

Montréal’s David Lemieux-Sarrasin (Laval, Que.) and Western’s Tonohiro Ono (North York) and Eli Brown (Toronto) round out the OUA men’s all-star team.

All major awards are determined by the coaches through a voting process following the OUA championship.