Petrick runs cross country for revenge

athletics_canadaVANCOUVER– Heather Petrick of Niagara-on-the-Lake was crowned the junior women’s national champion at the Canadian Cross Country Championships on Saturday (Nov. 30)

Petrick completed the 5-kilometre course in 17:47.63.

“I was able to get an early lead and it is awesome to get revenge after falling last year”, said Petrick. “I am really happy with my training”. Defending Champion Jillian Forsey of Kippens, NFLD., was second in 18:02.45 and third place went to Kitchener, Ont.’s Jaimie Phelan in 18:13.13

Five other national champions were crowned at the championships at Jericho Beach Park in Vancouver, B.C.

Lucas Bruchet took the senior men’s title in the 10-kilometre race in a time of 31:38.39. Chris Winter of Vancouver, B.C won silver in 31:47.91 and Aaron Hendrikx of Parkhill, Ont., won bronze in 31:50.97.

Natasha Wodak won the senior women’s national title in the 7-kilometre race in 24:30.80. Vancouver, B.C.’s Rachel Cliff was right behind her for silver in 24:34.00. Also on the podium was Calgary, Alta.’s Jessica O’Connell in 24:48.07 for the bronze.

Justyn Knight won the men’s junior title finishing first in the 8-kilometre race in 25:43.30. Ben Flanagan of Kitchener, Ont., clocked 25:47.12 for the silver, and bronze was won by Mike Tate of Heatherton, N.S., in 25:53.89.

James Finlayson won the overall Masters men’s title in 26:54.34. It was a British Columbia sweep in the men’s Masters 8-kilometre race with silver going to Burnaby’s Oliver Utting in 27:17.66 while bronze went to Victoria’s Craig Odermatt in 27:35.00.

The Masters women’s national title was won by Maria Zambrano in 30:15.98. Defending champion Catherine Watkins of Vancouver, B.C. raced to a time of 30:31.43 over the 8-kilometre distance. Third went to Rachel Ruus of Richmond, B.C. in 32:10.36.