Blast inch closer to Dundas for league lead

mccoysDundas Real McCoys came up one sniper short in losing a key 2-1 Allan Cup Hockey contest to the Brantford Blast on Friday night (Feb. 7) in the Telephone City.

Tied 1-1 after three periods of regulation time and an overtime session, the two teams had to settle their dispute in a shootout. And the Blast proved the better marksmen, scoring on three of their six attempts to the Real McCoys’ two.

Brantford’s final shooter, Chad Spurr, gave the hosts the win to pull within two points of league leading Dundas.

Recently signed forward Jason Ward gave Dundas a first period lead until Brandon Dietrich evened the score mid-way through the second period.

Brantford travels to Whitby on Saturday (Feb. 8) to play the third place Dunlops, who are two points back of the Blast, 27 points to 25 points. Dundas will take on the fourth-place Generals (22 points) in Stoney Creek on Sunday (Feb. 9).

Dundas has five games remaining in the regular season schedule.


Period 1
Dundas – Jason Ward (Nick Smith) 12:26

No penalties

Period 2
Brantford – Brandon Dietrich (Joel Prpic, Mike Ruberto) 10:33

Brantford – Kyle Spurr – (Roughing) 2 MIN, 3:31
Dundas – Steve Hurst – (Holding) 2 MIN, 7:07
Brantford – Mark Taylor – (Hooking) 2 MIN, 11:19
Dundas – Cam Watson – (Hooking) 2 MIN, 11:28
Brantford – Jamie Williams – (Delay of Game, Bench Minor) 2 MIN, 15:01
Dundas – Nick Smith – (Hooking) 2 MIN, 16:01
Brantford – Joel Prpic – (Unsportsmanlike Conduct) 2 MIN, 18:12
Dundas – Blair Stayzer – (Unsportsmanlike Conduct) 2 MIN, 18:12
Brantford – Kyle Spurr – (Cross Checking) 2 MIN, 20:00
Brantford – Jon Jankus – (Abuse of Officials, misconduct) 10 MIN, 20:00

Period 3
No scoring

Brantford – Mike Burgoyne – (Abuse of Officials, misconduct) 10 MIN, 6:59
Brantford – Andrew Lackner – (Slashing) 2 MIN, 16:13

(no scoring)

No penalties


Darryl Smith – no
Scott Mifsud – no
Jason Ward – no
Nick Smith – yes
Greg Stewart – yes
Cam Watson – no

Jon Jankus – no
Brandon Dietrich – no
Greg Bullock – no
Joel Prpic – yes
Mike Burgoyne – yes
Chad Spurr – yes