Mac’s Reddy OUA squash rookie of the year

McMasterPatrick Morkus won top-flight bronze and Mikale Reddy was named Men’s Rookie of the Year at the Ontario University Athletics Squash Championships on Saturday (Feb. 8).

The efforts of Morkus and Reddy helped propel the Marauder men to a silver medal in the overall standings as they finished just six points behind the champion Western Mustangs. Meanwhile, McMaster’s women’s team finished fifth.

Morkus, McMaster’s fourth-year No. 1, was swept by Western’s Albert Shoihet in the top-flight semi-finals, but rebounded with a five-game victory over the Queen’s Gaels’ Mo Hamour in the bronze-medal match. He was named an OUA All-Star as a result.

Pranav Sharma, the Marauders’ second, defeated Brock’s Harrison Ashkanese in a semi-final sweep, before falling to Western’s James van Staveren in the second-flight final. Reddy made his mark as a rookie in the third flight, defeating Lucas Ravkov of Queen’s in three games before losing the gold-medal match to Western’s Adrian Ostbye in four.

McMaster’s competitors in the fourth, fifth and sixth flights, Spencer Robitaille, J.C. Jefferies and Nick Pavcic, each advanced to their respective finals before being bested by the entrants from Western.

On the women’s side, another rookie made positive steps for the Marauders on Saturday when Talia MacDougall competed as McMaster’s No. 1 and won the consolation final against Brock’s Sofia Chaves to gain OUA All-Star status.

Mikaila Nederveen and Taylor Dysart won McMaster’s two medals in the women’s competition, claiming bronze in the third and fifth flights respectively.


1. Western – 23 points
2. McMaster – 17 points
T3. Waterloo – 9 points
T3. Queen’s – 9 points
5. Toronto – 7 points
6. Brock – 1 point


1. Toronto – 19 points
2. Western – 14 points
3. Waterloo – 12 points
4. Queen’s – 11 points
5. McMaster – 10 points
6. Brock – 0 points