Fennell’s hot hand burning the opposition

Matt Fennell (Photo: Mohawk College Athletics)

Matt Fennell (Photo: Mohawk College Athletics)

Call him the ‘mailman,’ because game in and game out, Mohawk’s Matt Fennell delivers on the basketball court. In fact, he is the highest average scorer in the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association and by a healthy margin. The fifth year guard, who played previously with London’s Oakridge Secondary School, Fanshawe College, and the University of Prince Edward Island, was an All-Canadian last year – his first with the Mountaineers. Fennell was also an Ontario Colleges Athletic Association West Division First Team All-Star and MVP in the OCAA All-Star Game.

And the beat goes on this season. Through the first five games of the campaign, the 6-5 Fennell has scored 170 points, which averages out to 34 points per game. The next-best shooter in Canadian college ball averages 29.67 points per game. Fennell is 58 percent on his field goal tries, has made 48.8 percent of his shots from three point range and is 86.8 percent from the free throw line. He even averages 7.2 rebounds a game from his guard position.

Matt Fennell is definitely the ‘go to guy’ as the Mohawk Mountaineers bid to return to championship glory.

Mohawk is host to the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Men’s Basketball Championship, March 18-21, 2015.

More from Varsity

Rams fall victim to Marauders kills

(Photo: Fraser Caldwell/McMaster Athletics)

Another brutally efficient performance from Danny Demyanenko guided the Marauders through a difficult encounter with the Ryerson Rams Wednesday.