Mohawk Mountaineers

Little movement for Mohawk in varsity rankings

Despite improving it’s record to 7-1, the Mohawk men’s volleyball team had no change in its national and provincial rankings this week. The Mountaineers are still No. 2 in the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association and No. 7 in the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association.

The No. 2 OCAA ranked women’s basketball team pictured at the 2016 Mohawk College Athletics Department toy drive for the Eva Rothwell Centre. (Photo: Mohawk College Athletics)

The women’s volleyball team, which is 5-3, remains sixth in the province and is unranked nationally.

The women’s basketball team, which sports a 6-2 mark, is still ranked second by the OCAA and number eight by the CCAA.

There was movement for the 4-4 men’s basketball team, but in the wrong direction as the Mountaineers dropped two spots to number 10 in Ontario. They are not ranked in Canada this week.

In off-court activities, the last chance to drop off items for the Mohawk College Athletics Department toy drive will be Friday (Dec. 9) at noon. The toys are being donated to the Eva Rothwell Centre, a Mohawk College partner.

More from Mohawk Mountaineers

Mountaineers tumble after volleyball setback

The straight sets defeat to Redeemer Royals in men’s volleyball the past week, not only snapped the Mohawk College undefeated string, it also cost them in OCAA and national rankings.