McMaster misses out on National Men’s University basketball tourney

OTTAWA – McMaster University’s bid to host the men’s national basketball tournament has been slam dunked by Carleton University.

The Ottawa-based Ravens, who have won the past four men’s national cage titles, will stage the Canadian Interuniversity Sport’s tournament from 2008-2010. McMaster was one of four institutions bidding to grab the prestigious affair from Atlantic University Sport which will have been host for 24 straight seasons when it stages the 2007 event in Halifax. In addition to McMaster, the AUS, and University of British Columbia made bid presentations to the CIS, the national governing body for university sport.

The last time the event was held outside of Nova Scotia’s capital was 1983, when the University of Waterloo hosted the championship.

Carleton, which will partner with Capital Sports Properties Inc. to organize the tournament, will host the championship at Scotiabank Place, home of the NHL’s Ottawa Senators. Capital Sports Properties Inc. owns both the Senators and Scotiabank Place.

“CIS looks forward to working with Carleton University and Capital Sports to take this outstanding event to the next level,” says CIS chief executive officer Marg McGregor. “With the event being hosted in Ottawa, basketball fans from Ontario, Quebec and Northern U.S. will be exposed to exceptional basketball, in a world class facility at family affordable rates.”

“The selection committee was very impressed with the caliber of the bids received,” adds McGregor. “Atlantic University Sport has done an exceptional job over the past 23 years in nurturing the CIS men’s basketball championship into the outstanding property it has become. We owe AUS and all their dedicated volunteers and staff a huge debt of gratitude.”

The CIS also awarded hosting rights for other national championships. Lakehead University in Thunder Bay won the University Cup men’s hockey tournament for 2009 and 2010; the University of Saskatchewan (2008) and the University of Regina (2009) get women’s basketball; St. Francis Xavier University has women’s hockey (2009-2010); the University of Windsor will host track and field (2009-2010); and the University of Calgary won wrestling (2008-2009). For 2007 and 2008 the University of Moncton was previously awarded the men’s hockey showdown.

CIS championship schedule

Women’s basketball

2007: Memorial University of Newfoundland
2008: University of Saskatchewan (awarded in June 2006)
2009: University of Regina (awarded in June 2006)

Women’s hockey

2007 & 2008: University of Ottawa
2009 & 2010: St. Francis Xavier University (awarded in June 2006)

Men’s hockey

2007 & 2008: University of Moncton
2009 & 2010: Lakehead University (awarded in June 2006)

Track and field

2007 & 2008: McGill University
2009 & 2010: University of Windsor (awarded in June 2006)


2007: University of Saskatchewan
2008 & 2009: University of Calgary (awarded in June 2006)

The CIS has 52 members, 10,000 student-athletes and 550 coaches who challenge for 19 national championships in 11 different sports. The CIS also provides high performance international opportunities for Canadian student-athletes at Winter and Summer Universiades, and 27 World University Championships.