Hamilton’s Alena Sharp chosen to represent Canada

The Canadian Olympic Committee and Golf Canada have named the four athletes nominated to represent Team Canada in golf at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games from Aug. 5 to 21.

The four athletes selected are: Graham DeLaet and David Hearn in the men’s event as well as Brooke Henderson and Alena Sharp in the women’s event. The men’s team will be coached by Derek Ingram while Tristan Mullally will coach the women’s team.

Hamilton's Alena Sharp (Photo: COC)

Hamilton’s Alena Sharp (Photo: COC)

The athletes earned their spots on the Canadian Olympic Golf Team based on their standing in the respective men’s and women’s world golf rankings as of July 11.

“I can’t imagine a greater thrill in sports than representing my country at the Olympic Games,” said Sharpe. “I’m having one of my best seasons ever on the LPGA Tour and the timing couldn’t be better for me to take my game to Rio.”

The field for the 2016 Olympic golf competition will include 60 women and 60 men competing over 72 holes of stroke play in a men’s individual event (Aug. 11-14) and a women’s individual event (Aug. 17-20). Golf makes a historic return to the Olympic Games for the first time in 112 years, dating back to when Canadian George S. Lyon won gold for Canada at St. Louis 1904.

At Rio 2016, Canada expects to field a team of approximately 315 athletes.

More from Golf

Cayuga’s Corner corners third in amateur golf


Max Sear came into the 2016 Investors Group Ontario Men’s Amateur Championship, at the Thornhill Club and took care of business with an impressive week that was capped off by hoisting the trophy.