Fractions of seconds keep Canucks off podium

2015_universiade_logoGWANGJU, South Korea – Two Canadian athletes came close to the podium Sunday (July 5) on the third day of competition at the 28th Summer Universiade.

Diving’s Celina Toth (Victoria, B.C.) and swimming’s Samantha Corea (Vancouver) each had a fourth place finish in their events. Toth, a student at the University of Victoria, competed in the 10-metre platform while Corea (University of Denver), swam in the final of the 50-metre butterfly.

Toth finished her event with a total of 322.55 points. The Chinese divers Wang Ying (345.00) and Wang Han (338.20) took the first two podium positions, followed by Mai Nakagawa of Japan whose final dive of 75.20 points allowed her to take the bronze out of Toth’s hands with a total score of 330.05.

Toth’s team mate, Carol-Ann Ware (Montreal) took sixth place in the event.

For her part, Corea swam a time of 26.51 in the 50-metre butterfly which was one tenth of a second short of the bronze medal time. She was one of two Canadians competing in finals on Sunday evening. In the 200-metre back stroke, Barbara Jardin of Montreal finished fifth with a time of 2 :13.16.

The Canadian women’s basketball team was put to the test in its very first game at the Universiade, edging Hungary 70-65 in double overtime Sunday. Adut Bulgak scored 24 points with 15 rebounds to lead team Canada in the win.

The men’s basketball team bettered its record to 2-0 with an 81-61 win over Mexico at the University of Gwangju Gymnasium. Canada is tied with Russia atop the standings in Group B with three games remaining in the preliminary round. Centre Chris McLaughlin (University of Victoria) led the offensive effort with 26 points while Johnny Berhanemeskel (University of Ottawa) added 16 points and three assists.

The women’s volleyball team evened its record at 1-1 with an efficient 3-0 victory (25-10, 25-7, 25-6) over Zimbabwe. The Canadians will now compete with Thailand (2-0) in a game which will determine who will finish in the first two spots of Group D, which gives a pass through to the next round.

Middle blocker Dione Lang (University of Alberta), collected 15 points, with 10 kills and five aces to lead the Canadians. Abigail Keeping (UBC) followed with 10 kills and three aces.

Tennis athlete Evangeline Repic of Oakville, ON easily advanced to the third round in singles with a win over Colombia’s Paula Rodriguez in two quick sets, 6-1 and 6-0. Repic and her teammate, Louise Kwong, also defeated their French opponents in doubles action, 6-4, 6-1.

The Canadian men’s soccer team suffered a disappointing 1-0 loss to the Chinese Taipei in their second game of preliminary competition Sunday. With the loss, Canadians moves to 0-2 and out of medal contention. Following their final game against the host South Korea on Tuesday, they will continue on into the consolation round.

In fencing, Vincent Lavoie (3-3) and Clément Femenias-Metivet (2-4) advanced through the preliminary round before losing their match in the round of 64. Lavoie was defeated 15-11 against Russian Nikita Glazkov, while Femenias-Metivet lost 15-10 against Lorenzo Bruttini of Italy. In women’s competition, Aimee Shryer won one match in the preliminary phase and did not advance.

Rowing competition began with Canada qualifying for four finals on Sunday. On the women’s side, the lightweight double sculls and coxless four will be in the finals, while on the men’s side, the lightweight double sculls and lightweight coxless four will have a shot at a medal. Four more teams advanced to semi-finals.

In shooting, all three Canadians were eliminated after the qualification round. In the women’s 10-metre air rifle Samantha Marsh (Memorial University) finished in 57thplace. Her team mates Christie MacLennan (University of Toronto) and Kelsey Bjorkman (University of Saskatchewan) finished 43rd and 46th respectively in the 25-metre sport pistol event.

Results for athletes from the Golden Horseshoe included:


Women’s Double Sculls – Heat 3

2. Canada (Emily Jago, Sudbury, Ont.; Stephanie Mowder, St. Catharines, Ont.), 7:24.06, advances to semi-final.

Men’s Double Sculls – Heat 1

5. Canada (Mark Alm, Grimsby, Ont.; William Bryden, Charlottetown, PEI), 6:46.18, goes to repechage.

Men’s Double Sculls – Repechage

2. Canada (Mark Alm, Grimsby, Ont,; William Bryden, Charlottetown, PEI), 6:47.34, advances to semi-final A/B 2.

Women’s Lightweight Double Sculls – Heat 1

2. Canada (Katherine Walker, Hamilton, Ont.; Alexandra Stefanovski, London, Ont.), 7:29.40, goes to repechage.

Women’s Lightweight Double Sculls – Repechage 1

2. Canada (Katherine Walker, Hamilton, Ont.; Alexandra Stefanovski, London, Ont.), 7:32.43, advances to final A.

Men’s Lightweight Coxless Four – Heat 1

4. Canada (Josh King, Ottawa, Ont.; James Potts, Ottawa, Ont.; Taylor Ashwood, Fort Erie, Ont.; Tom Watson, Winnipeg, Man.), 6:31.87, goes to repechage.

Men’s Lightweight Coxless Four – Repechage

3. Canada (Josh King, Ottawa, Ont.; James Potts, Ottawa, Ont.; Taylor Ashwood, Fort Erie, Ont.; Tom Watson, Winnipeg, Man.), 6:20.99, advances to final A.


Women’s 25m Pistol – Qualification, Precision

43. Christie MacLennan, Oakville, Ont., 271.


Women’s singles – Round 2

Evangeline Repic, Oakville, Ont., wins 6-1, 6-0 over Paula Rodriguez, Colombia, next match vs (1) Luksika Kumkhum, Thailand, date and time TBD.

Women’s doubles – Round 1

Canada (Louise Kwong, Toronto, Ont.; Evangeline Repic, Oakville, Ont.) wins over France (Alice Bacquie, Mallaurie Noël) 6-4, 6-1.

More from Tennis