Auto Racing

Ranger conquers Edmonton Oval

Collects 19th Career Canadian Tire Series Victory

nascarcanadaWETASKIWIN, Alta. – Andrew Ranger has plenty of mastery on road-courses.

The two-time champion of the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 proved once again he can figure it out on an oval, too. He showed that Friday night (July 11) as he picked up the win in the Alberta Has Energy 300 in the inaugural event at Edmonton International Raceway.

Ranger tied the series’ all-time record with his 19th career win, and won back-to-back races for the first time since August 2009 following his victory on the road course at Circuit ICAR in Quebec last week. It was also his first oval win since 2009, and fourth overall.

LP Dumoulin and Jason Hathaway waged a battle throughout the last two laps of the race for second and Dumoulin came out ahead, followed by Hathaway, J.R. Fitzpatrick and D.J. Kennington.

Joey McColm, Larry Jackson of Oakville, Ont., Scott Steckly, rookie Stefan Rzadzinski and Noel Dowler completed the top 10. Jackson had started in the No. 15 position.

Fitzpatrick and Dumoulin are now tied for the season points lead after four races at 162 apiece while Ranger’s back-to-back wins have bumped him up to third, 12 tallies behind the co-leaders.

Dumoulin has finished top-five in all four races this year, two more than any other driver.

The race was slowed by 11 cautions for 94 laps, including two red flags.

The Canadian Tire Series will complete its western swing on Wednesday, July 16 in the Velocity Prairie Thunder 250 at Auto Clearing Motor Speedway in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

More from Auto Racing

Lapcevich repeats runner-up finish in NASCAR event


J.R. Fitzpatrick entered the weekend with a 15-race winless streak, but he’ll head home having added to his NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 all-time wins lead at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.