Baseball

Bandits, Cardinals to open IBL season


IBLCambridge, ON – The Intercounty Baseball League’s 2016 schedule, released Wednesday (Feb. 3) and which begins Saturday, May 7 has three games – London Majors at Burlington Bandits, Hamilton Cardinals at Guelph Royals and Kitchener Panthers at Barrie Baycats.

The 2016 season will mark the IBL’s 98th season.

Each team will again play a 36-game schedule. The only scheduled doubleheaders are two between Barrie and London. Weekends comprise a large majority of the schedule as 72% of the games will be played on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays (104 of the 144 games).

The IBL All-Star Game will again be held in Barrie Saturday, July 2 at 2 p.m.

2016 Intercounty Baseball League Home Openers:

Barrie Baycats – Saturday, May 7 vs Kitchener Panthers
Brantford Red Sox – Saturday, May 14 vs London Majors
Burlington Bandits – Saturday, May 7 vs London Majors
Guelph Royals – Saturday, May 7 vs Hamilton Cardinals
Hamilton Cardinals – Sunday, May 8 vs Kitchener Panthers
Kitchener Panthers – Sunday, May 15 vs Brantford Red Sox
London Majors – Sunday, May 15 vs Barrie Baycats
Toronto Maple Leafs – Sunday, May 8 vs Guelph Royals

2016 Intercounty Baseball League Schedule Highlights:

May 7 – The Kitchener Panthers and defending champion Barrie Baycats meet for the first time in a re-match of last season’s final series that saw Barrie win four games to one.
July 1 – Guelph will host Burlington and London hosts Toronto on Canada Day.
July 2 – IBL All-Star Game at Barrie
July 31 – The IBL’s 98th season comes to an end with the close of the regular season and two games on the docket. The two games are Brantford at Kitchener and Barrie at Toronto.

OFFICIAL 2016 SCHEDULE

1. Sat., May 7, 2016, Kitchener at Barrie, 2:00 pm
2. Sat., May 7, 2016, London at Burlington, 1:00 pm
3. Sat., May 7, 2016, Hamilton at Guelph, 1:00 pm
4. Sun., May 8, 2016, Kitchener at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
5. Sun., May 8, 2016, Guelph at Toronto, 2:00 pm
6. Sat., May 14, 2016, Guelph at Barrie, 2:00 pm
7. Sat., May 14, 2016, London at Brantford, 2:00 pm
8. Sat., May 14, 2016, Hamilton at Burlington, 1:00 pm
9. Sun., May 15, 2016, Guelph at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
10. Sun., May 15, 2016, Brantford at Kitchener, 2:00 pm
11. Sun., May 15, 2016, Barrie at London, 1:05 pm
12. Sun., May 15, 2016, Burlington at Toronto, 2:00 pm
13. Wed., May 18, 2016, Barrie at Toronto, 7:30 pm
14. Thur., May 19, 2016, Brantford at Burlington, 7:30 pm
15. Fri., May 20, 2016, Hamilton at London, 7:35 pm
16. Sat., May 21, 2016, Hamilton at Brantford, 2:00 pm
17. Sat., May 21, 2016, Kitchener at Burlington, 1:00 pm
18. Sat., May 21, 2016, Toronto at Guelph, 1:00 pm
19/20. Sun., May 22, 2016, London at Barrie, 1:00 pm
21. Sun., May 22, 2016, Burlington at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
22. Sun., May 22, 2016, Guelph at Kitchener, 2:00 pm
23. Sun., May 22, 2016, Brantford at Toronto, 2:00 pm
24. Mon., May 23, 2016, Kitchener at Guelph, 1:00 pm
26. Thur., May 26, 2016, Toronto at Barrie, 7:30 pm
25. Thur., May 26, 2016, Hamilton at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
27. Fri., May 27, 2016, Burlington at Brantford, 8:00 pm
28. Fri., May 27, 2016, Guelph at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
29. Fri., May 27, 2016, Toronto at London, 7:35 pm
30. Sat., May 28, 2016, Barrie at Burlington, 1:00 pm
31. Sat., May 28, 2016, Brantford at Guelph, 1:00 pm
32. Sun., May 29, 2016, Barrie at Kitchener, 2:00 pm
33. Sun., May 29, 2016, Brantford at London, 1:05 pm
34. Sun., May 29, 2016, Hamilton at Toronto, 2:00 pm
35. Wed., June 1, 2016, Barrie at Brantford, 8:00 pm
36. Wed., June 1, 2016, Kitchener at Toronto, 7:30 pm
37. Thur., June 2, 2016, Guelph at Burlington, 7:30 pm
38. Thur., June 2, 2016, London at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
39. Fri., June 3, 2016, Toronto at Brantford, 8:00 pm
40. Fri., June 3, 2016, London at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
41. Sat., June 4, 2016, Brantford at Barrie, 7:00 pm
42. Sat., June 4, 2016, Hamilton at Burlington, 1:00 pm
43. Sat., June 4, 2016, Kitchener at Guelph, 1:00 pm
44. Sun., June 5, 2016, Barrie at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
45. Sun., June 5, 2016, Guelph at London, 1:05 pm
46. Sun., June 5, 2016, Burlington at Toronto, 2:00 pm
47. Tues., June 7, 2016, Barrie at Guelph, 7:30 pm
48. Wed., June 8, 2016, London at Brantford, 8:00 pm
49. Thur., June 9, 2016, Guelph at Barrie, 7:30 pm
50. Thur., June 9, 2016, Brantford at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
51. Fri., June 10, 2016, Toronto at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
52. Fri., June 10, 2016, Burlington at London, 7:35 pm
53. Sat., June 11, 2016, Kitchener at Barrie, 7:00 pm
54. Sat., June 11, 2016, Hamilton at Brantford, 8:00 pm
55. Sat., June 11, 2016, Toronto at Burlington, 1:00 pm
56. Sat., June 11, 2016, London at Guelph, 1:00 pm
57. Sun., June 12, 2016, Brantford at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
58. Sun., June 12, 2016, Burlington at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
59. Sun., June 12, 2016, London at Toronto, 2:00 pm
60. Wed., June 15, 2016, Burlington at Barrie, 7:30 pm
61. Thur., June 16, 2016, Brantford at Burlington, 7:30 pm
62. Thur., June 16, 2016, Toronto at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
63. Fri., June 17, 2016, Toronto at Brantford, 8:00 pm
64. Fri., June 17, 2016, London at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
65. Sat., June 18, 2016, Hamilton at Barrie, 7:00 pm
66. Sat., June 18, 2016, Burlington at Guelph, 1:00 pm
67. Sat., June 18, 2016, Kitchener at London, 7:35 pm
68. Sun., June 19, 2016, Burlington at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
69. Sun., June 19, 2016, Barrie at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
70. Sun., June 19, 2016, Brantford at London, 1:05 pm
71. Sun., June 19, 2016, Guelph at Toronto, 2:00 pm
72. Tues., June 21, 2016, Kitchener at Guelph, 7:30 pm
73. Tues., June 21, 2016, Hamilton at London, 7:35 pm
74. Wed., June 22, 2016, Barrie at Brantford, 8:00 pm
75. Thur., June 23, 2016, Toronto at Barrie, 7:30 pm
76. Thur., June 23, 2016, Guelph at Burlington, 7:30 pm
77. Fri., June 24, 2016, Burlington at Brantford, 8:00 pm
78. Fri., June 24, 2016, Toronto at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
79. Fri., June 24, 2016, Kitchener at London, 7:35 pm
80. Sat., June 25, 2016, Hamilton at Burlington, 1:00 pm
81. Sat., June 25, 2016, Brantford at Guelph, 1:00 pm
82. Sun., June 26, 2016, Burlington at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
83. Sun., June 26, 2016, Brantford at London, 1:05 pm
84. Sun., June 26, 2016, Hamilton at Toronto, 2:00 pm
85. Tues., June 28, 2016, Kitchener at Barrie, 7:30 pm
86. Tues., June 28, 2016, London at Guelph, 7:30 pm
87. Wed., June 29, 2016, Hamilton at Brantford, 8:00 pm
88. Wed., June 29, 2016, Kitchener at Toronto, 7:30 pm
89. Thur., June 30, 2016, Brantford at Burlington, 7:30 pm
90. Thur., June 30, 2016, Hamilton at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
91. Fri., July 1, 2016, Burlington at Guelph, 1:00 pm
92. Fri., July 1, 2016, Toronto at London, 6:05 p.m.
93. Sun., July 3, 2016, Brantford at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
94. Sun., July 3, 2016, Guelph at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
95/96. Sun., July 3, 2016, Barrie at London, 1:05 pm
97. Sun., July 3, 2016, Burlington at Toronto, 2:00 pm
98. Tues., July 5, 2016, Brantford at Guelph, 7:30 pm
99. Wed., July 6, 2016, Barrie at Toronto, 7:30 pm
100. Thur., July 7, 2016, Toronto at Barrie, 7:30 pm
101. Thur., July 7, 2016, London at Burlington, 7:30 pm
102. Fri., July 8, 2016, Guelph at Brantford, 8:00 pm
103. Fri., July 8, 2016, Kitchener at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
104. Fri., July 8, 2016, Burlington at London, 7:35 pm
105. Sat., July 9, 2016, Kitchener at Brantford, 8:00 pm
106. Sat., July 9, 2016, Barrie at Burlington, 1:00 pm
107. Sat., July 9, 2016, Toronto at Guelph, 7:30 pm
108. Sun., July 10, 2016, Hamilton at Barrie, 7:00 pm
109. Sun., July 10, 2016, London at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
110. Sun., July 10, 2016, Guelph at Toronto, 2:00 pm
111. Wed., July 13, 2016, London at Brantford, 8:00 pm
112. Wed., July 13, 2016, Kitchener at Toronto, 7:30 pm
113. Thur., July 14, 2016, Barrie at Burlington, 7:30 pm
114. Thur., July 14, 2016, Toronto at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
115. Fri., July 15, 2016, Guelph at Brantford, 8:00 pm
116. Fri., July 15, 2016, Burlington at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
117. Fri., July 15, 2016, Toronto at London, 7:35 pm
118. Sat., July 16, 2016, Brantford at Barrie, 7:00 pm
119. Sat., July 16, 2016, Kitchener at Burlington, 1:00 pm
120. Sat., July 16, 2016, Hamilton at Guelph, 7:30 pm
121. Sun., July 17, 2016, Barrie at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
122. Sun., July 17, 2016, Guelph at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
123. Sun., July 17, 2016, London at Toronto, 2:00 pm
124. Tues., July 19, 2016, Barrie at Guelph, 7:30 pm
125. Thur., July 21, 2016, Burlington at Barrie, 7:30 pm
126. Thur., July 21, 2016, Hamilton at Kitchener, 7:30 pm
127. Fri., July 22, 2016, Kitchener at Brantford, 8:00 pm
128. Fri., July 22, 2016, Toronto at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
129. Fri., July 22, 2016, Guelph at London, 7:35 pm
130. Sat., July 23, 2016, Barrie at Brantford, 8:00 pm
131. Sat., July 23, 2016, Toronto at Burlington, 1:00 pm
132. Sat., July 23, 2016, London at Guelph, 7:30 pm
133. Sun., July 24, 2016, Guelph at Barrie, 7:00 pm
134. Sun., July 24, 2016, London at Hamilton, 2:00 pm
135. Sun., July 24, 2016, Burlington at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
136. Sun., July 24, 2016, Brantford at Toronto, 2:00 pm
137. Thur., July 28, 2016, Hamilton at Barrie, 7:30 pm
138. Thur., July 28, 2016, London at Burlington, 7:30 pm
139. Fri., July 29, 2016, Toronto at Brantford, 8:00 pm
140. Fri., July 29, 2016, Guelph at Hamilton, 7:30 pm
141. Fri., July 29, 2016, Kitchener at London, 7:35 pm
142. Sat., July 30, 2016, Burlington at Guelph, 7:30 pm
143. Sun., July 31, 2016, Brantford at Kitchener, 7:00 pm
144. Sun., July 31, 2016, Barrie at Toronto, 2:00 pm

More from Baseball

Bishop Ryan wears baseball crown

br

Brett Filko struck out 13 batters and went the distance on the mound to lead Bishop Ryan to the Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic high school baseball championship Thursday.