Shootout win stretches Bulldogs streak to three

Matt D’Agostini scored two goals in the shootout to lead the Hamilton Bulldogs to a 3-2 win over the Lake Erie Monsters on Wednesday night at Copps Coliseum. The ‘Dogs have now won three straight games and hold a record of 19-17-1-5 on the season.

Lake Erie opened the scoring at 12:01 of the first period when Jeff Friesen registered his first goal of the season. The Bulldogs evened the score at 5:33 of the middle stanza when Jonathan Ferland banged home a rebound past Monsters’ netminder Mike Wall on the power play. The goal was Ferland’s 11th of the campaign.

At 12:14 of the second period, the Monsters regained the lead when David Jones scored his 10th goal of the season to make the score 2-1. Corey Locke notched his 16th tally of the season at 4:13 of the third period to tie the game. With the power-play marker, Locke moved into a first-place tie with Brian Swanson and Tomas Plekanec on the Bulldogs all-time goal-scoring list with 71-career tallies.

After a scoreless overtime, the game was forced to a shootout. In the sixth round after each team went 1-for-5 on their first-five attempts, Matt D’Agostini potted a snap shot through the legs of Wall to give the Bulldogs the lead. Carey Price then shut the door on the Monsters’ final shooter to preserve a 3-2 shootout victory.

Price made 16 saves on 18 shots for Hamilton to earn the win, while Wall made 38 saves on 40 shots in a losing effort.

The Bulldogs were 2-for-3 with the man advantage, while the Monsters went 1-for-3 on the power play.

The Bulldogs return to action on Friday, Jan. 25 at 7:30 p.m. when they host the Quad City Flames in the 12th Annual TD ‘Smiles on Ice’ Game at Copps Coliseum.

Scoring Summary

First period
1. LEM – Jeff Friesen-1 (J.D.Corbin, Jamie Lundmark) – 12:01

Second period
2. HAM – Jonathan Ferland-11 (Mathieu Carle, Marvin Degon) – 5:33 (pp)
3. LEM – David Jones-10 (Wyatt Smith, Jeff Jillson) – 12:14 (pp)

Third period
4. HAM – Corey Locke-16 (unassisted) – 4:13 (pp)

(no scoring)


Matt D’Agostini – Yes
Corey Locke – No
Kyle Chipchura – No
Jonathan Ferland – No
Janne Lahti – No
Matt D’Agostini – Yes

Lake Erie:
Chris Stewart – No
David Jones – Yes
Jamie Lundmark – No
Eric Healey – No
Jeff Friesen – No
David Jones – No

Hamilton: 10-14-12-4-1–41
Lake Erie: 4-7-5-2-0–18

Attendance: 3,007