Star Warriors, Mike’s Subs pack away 10-pin titles

The champions have been declared in two tenpin leagues at Skyway Lanes and for the second consecutive year, Star Warriors topped the Westinghouse League.

As it usually does, it came down to the final frame before Mike Sydor, Art Oliver Sr., Joe Borkovic and Jim and Ed Margueratt captured the title by two points over Doug Griese, Teresa Boyd, Ray Marquette and Mark and Nobby Herchenroder. Only four points separated the six teams in this league which has been at Skyway almost as long as this 24-lane house has been open, which was 50 years last September.

High average went to Borkovic who missed the 200 mark by seven pins overall for a final score of 199.9. He edged Chris Marquette’s 199.2 with Nobby Herchenroder third at 192. Marquette’s 709 was high triple followed by Herchenroder’s 695 and Oliver’s 688. Oliver’s near perfect 299 was high single over Mark Herchenroder’s 290 and Marquette’s 279.

The B division winners were Sheila Moser (636 triple) and Brenda Hercheroder (256 single) and the ladies winners were Valerie Noble (639 triple) and Alaine Young (191 single).

Greg Helman had most improved average. Perfect attendance bowlers were Ed Faulkner, Ron Elliott, Teresa Boyd, Ray Marquette, Wendell Harrison, Doug Stickney, Kyle Marquette, Jim and Ed Margueratt and the four Herchenroder’s – Mark, Nobby, Brenda and Katrina. With the retirement of Mike Sydor, Sheila Moser is the new league secretary.

The oldest sanctioned league in Canada, the City Tenpin at Skyway Lanes, has wrapped up its 107th season with Mike’s Subs victorious by four pins over the Brantford Boys. The winning team was Gord Fickley, Mike LaCroix and Randy and Rick Bukowski. Jamie Gamble made the trip from Brantford worthwhile as he captured high average at 214, high triple with 748 and high single at 290.

One pin behind at 747 for high triple was Randy Bukowski with Tim Gamble next at 739. In the high single race, Randy Bukowski and Sean Ford tied for second at 279 with Randy Latendre and Tim Gamble third at 278. The B division winners were Matt LaCroix (687), Gord Fickley (672), Brent LaCroix (662), Gord Fickley (279) and Tim LaCroix (278).

Mike Ricker rebounded from his 186 average to claim most improved as he was plus 18 with a 204 mark. Twelve 700 triples were rolled during the season by Jamie Gamble (748, 736, 718, 704), Tim Gamble (739, 706), Mick Anderer (732, 706), Randy Bukowski, (747), Sean Ford (724), Rick Bukowski (708) and Mike Ricker (700). Bill Lishinski dealt 19 triples of 600 or better and Jamie Gamble pitched 13 games of 250 or better.

Congratulations to Art Oliver Jr. who averaged 193 for 32 games at the C.T.F. team trials in Winnipeg and is now on Team Canada along with former Stoney Creek resident Joe Ciach and his wife Kerrie. In Hamilton Tenpin Trivia, the opening for Skyway Lanes was 1957, Bowlerama Stoney Creek was 1958, Burlington Bowl was 1974, Hamilton Bowl was 1978 and Prime Time Bowling was 2003.