Football conference expands minor divisions

The Ottawa Sooners have returned to play in the Ontario Football Conference junior division after a 13-year absence. The Sooners received unanimous endorsement from the OFC membership – the Hamilton Hurricanes, the Burlington Braves, the St. Leonard Cougars, the Windsor AKO Fratmen, and the London Beefeaters at its annual general meeting on the weekend (Jan. 31-Feb. 1).

Established in 1960, the Sooners are four time (1974, 1979, 1984, and 1992) national champions and runners up nine times. The Sooners will play their home games at Keith Harris Stadium on the Carleton University campus.

The OFC also announced the further expansion of its minor divisions to three with 19 teams. The three divisions are Varsity (seven teams), Junior Varsity (six teams), and Peewee (six teams). The 19 teams will play in eight centres as the Burlington Stampeders, the Hamilton Wentworth Panthers, the Guelph Bears, the Stratford Saints, the Sudbury Gladiators, the Toronto Jr. Argonauts, the Twin City Predators and the York Simcoe Bucs.

The 2009 OFC executive was returned by acclamation: Doug Dittmer for his fourth term as president; Dave Harding and Michael Ramsay as vice presidents. Ramsay is the president of the minor divisions as well. Paul Bartle is the past president.

Also reappointed were secretary and Referee-in-Chief Bill Butcher, treasurer Rob Annen, statistician Jim Stevenson, registrar Gary Strong and media coordinator Jack Emerson Low.