Trio carries T-Birds flag in IBL all-star game

allstar-logo-3The Hamilton Thunderbirds will be represented by Jon Saporsantos, Tim Hebner, and Paul McKenna at the Intercounty Baseball League’s all-star game tomorrow (Saturday).

The Brantford Red Sox will be hosts for the New Era IBL All-Star Game as the defending IBL champions will take on a team of league all-stars at Arnold Anderson Stadium. Gametime is 2 p.m. Saporsantos is an infielder, Hebner patrols the outfield and McKenna is a pitcher for the Thunderbirds.

The annual event, presented by New Era, is a showcase event for the league featuring the Sox, who are battling for a top spot this season with their 15-8 record, taking on a team of the league’s top players managed by London’s Roop Chanderdat and his staff.

The London Majors lost to the Red Sox in a thrilling seven-game IBL championship series last year, and the Majors will have four players in this year’s game, while the other seven IBL teams will bring three players each.

The Red Sox also feature a star-studded lineup, including Hyung Cho, who is fifth in the league in hitting with a .368 average, and Jake Haggerty, who is third in ERA with a 1.41 mark.

The All-Stars will gather for batting practice at 12:45 p.m. and tickets are available at the door for this year’s event. The following is a list of this year’s IBL All-Stars who will take part in Saturday’s game:

Barrie – Donovan Latour, IF, Steve Lewis, OF, Jake Hines, P.
Guelph – Jamie Pogue, C, Jeremy Ware, OF, Dan Zehr, P.
Kitchener – Ben Kangas, C, Justin Gianfrancesco, OF, Wes Koch, P.
London – Jordan Dreiling, SS, Alan Cattrysse, OF, Pierre Miville-Deschenes, P, Mike DeLong, P/IF
Mississauga – Henry Duke, C, Branson Joseph, OF, Mike McGillray, P.
Oshawa – Jordan Castaldo, IF, Kyle Fillier, OF, Greg Byron, P.
Toronto – Dan Gibbons, IF, Kern Watts, OF, Marek Deska, P.