Bulldogs end road trip with OT win over the Moose

Mathieu Carle’s four-point night (two goals, two assists) and P.K. Subban’s overtime marker carried the Hamilton Bulldogs to a 5-4 American Hockey League win over the Manitoba Moose on Saturday night.

The win in Winnipeg concluded the ’Dogs four-game road trip that ended with two wins and two defeats.

Hamilton opened the scoring at 10:54 of the first period. J.T. Wyman won a faceoff to the right of Manitoba goaltender Cory Schneider, sending the puck to Carle who blasted a shot that sailed through traffic and into the net.

The ‘Dogs took a 2-0 lead at 2:04 of the middle frame. Sergei Kostitsyn fed a pass to David Desharnais, who rifled a shot that bounced off the right post and onto the stick of Carle. Carle slid a shot past an out-of-position Schneider. Hamilton increased its lead while on the power play at 7:35. Andre Benoit received a pass from Brock Trotter who relayed to Kostitsyn. His shot sailed over the shoulder of Schneider and into the net.

The Moose got on the scoreboard less than a minute later. Erik Christensen redirected a shot between the legs of Hamilton goaltender Curtis Sanford. Manitoba cut the lead to one at 9:21. Evan Oberg blasted a shot that was stopped by Sanford but Marty Murray grabbed the rebound before backhanding the puck past the goaltender.

Hamilton took a 4-2 lead at 13:09 of the period while on the power play. Kostitsyn sent a pass to Desharnais, who fired a backhand shot over the right shoulder of Schneider

Shirokov scored the Moose’s third goal of the game with 13 seconds left in the middle stanza.
Midway through the final period, Manitoba tied the game. Oberg sent a pass to Marco Rosa, who hammered a shot past Sanford.

The Bulldogs won the game at 3:53 of the overtime period when Wyman sent a pass to Subban, who released a shot that beat Schneider. Carle also assisted on the goal.

Hamilton outshot the Moose 38-24 in the game witnessed by 13,582 fans.

The Bulldogs return to Copps Coliseum to battle the Rochester Americans on Tuesday (Nov. 24) at 7:30 p.m.