Ticats’ great receiver hauls in coaching honour

Rocky DiPietro is this year’s choice for the T. Litzen Sports Ltd./McMaster University High School Coach of the Year award.

A former Hamilton Tiger-Cat great and member of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame, DiPietro has been involved with high school football at Lakeshore Catholic in Port Colborne since 1997, serving as the senior head coach for the past three years.

During his tenure, Lakeshore Catholic has been one of the dominant high school programs in the Niagara region and Ontario. DiPietro has guided the Gators to the last two Golden Horseshoe Bowl games at the Rogers Centre, and has seen his team win four straight Southern Ontario Secondary Schools Association titles and three Ontario championships.

After a 14-year career with the Canadian Football League Tiger-Cats, DiPietro retired in 1991 as the league’s all-time leader in receptions and was twice named the CFL’s Outstanding Canadian Player (1982 and 1989).

The Coach of the Year award will be presented at the 13th Annual McMaster Football Gala Dinner on April 29. Along with the award, DiPietro will receive a $1,000 voucher from T.Litzen Sports of Dundas, to be used for the purchase of equipment for the Lakeshore Catholic football program.

Coach of the Year candidates are nominated from the regions of Hamilton, Halton, Niagara, and Haldimand, and selection is based on long-term service to high school football, positive impact made on players, and commitment to excellence on and off the field.

In addition to honouring the 2010 High School Coach of the Year, the 13th Annual McMaster Football Gala Dinner will recognize the McMaster Team of the Decade (2000-2009). McMaster will also unveil the Marauders new uniforms for play in Ontario University Athletics. At the same time, Mac will farewell to Dr. Peter George, the university’s president and Vice-Chancellor since 1995.

For more information on the 13th Annual McMaster Football Gala Dinner, visit the Marauder website at www.marauders.ca

Previous winners of the award include: 2009 – Claudio Silvestri, St. Thomas More; 2008 – Steve Alfano, St. Jean de Brebeuf; 2007- Bob Stacey, Burlington Nelson; and 2006 co-winners Dave Walters, Westdale and Rick Oreskovich, Niagara Falls Saint Paul’s.