Hooper honoured for decade of dedication

Georgetown’s Bob Hooper was recognized by the Ontario Hockey Association for his long-term dedication to the group.

Hooper was the recipient of the OHA’s Gold Stick award for more than 10 years of committed service to the association. Mr. Hooper has worked in recent years with the Ontario Junior Hockey League, the OHA’s Junior A program, and, in past years, with Senior and Intermediate teams from Georgetown, winning a national intermediate Hardy Cup championship.

The award was presented at the OHA’s 121st annual general meeting on June 19.

The three-day meeting dealt with financial matters, the next stage of the Tomorrow’s Game initiative, the recognition of some especially dedicated contributions to the OHA, and the election of officers.

John Kopinak of Mitchell’s Bay Ontario was installed as the 61st chairman of the OHA, succeeding Richard Woods of Picton.

Kopinak a former police Chief of Chatham – Kent Police Services, and former member of the Niagara Regional Police Force, accepted the gavel of office from Woods vowing to maintain the profile of the OHA, while at the same time moving its major project – Tomorrow’s Game – forward.

Elected to the executive council were Leo Lostracco, Welland, vice –chairman; Graham Snyder, Elmira, senior chairman; and John Kastner, Stratford, junior chairman. Elected directors included William Markle, Toronto; Trevor Tinney, Campbellford; Brad Grant, Milton; Don Yeck, Belmont; Perry Bowles, Courtice; and Wayne Schnabel, Ridgetown.

Dick Allen, recently retired Convenor of the Great Lakes Junior C Hockey League was awarded the OHA Crystal Puck for his efforts leading the largest Junior C league in the Association for over 10 years.