McCoys’ GM accepts blame for 2011 Allan Cup loss

2010-11 John Ross Robertson Cup champions: Dundas Real McCoys (Photo: Kathleen Davies)

“I will never apologize for being the Robertson Cup Champions. With a great executive like this, and a fabulous group of players and support staff, the winning tradition of our franchise, and our charity work, is unparalleled in recent Hamilton sports history,” said Dundas Real McCoys general manager Don Robertson following the 103rd Allan Cup Tournament at Kenora last Saturday.

The pervious day, Dundas, bolstered by four fresh bodies, shutout Saskatchewan champion South East Prairie Thunder, 3-0. In earlier action, the shorthanded McCoys were edged by the Alberta champion Bentley Generals, 4-3, after twice holding the lead in the game.

Dundas lost the opener to Kenora Thistles, 6-1.

“We rolled the dice on some former National Hockey Leaguers to join us for the Allan Cup, but it didn’t work out, and that’s my fault. If we had won, it would have been great. It was a mistake, and I made it.”

“The team (Clarenville Caribous) that beat us won the title. They had 50 players to choose from and other teams had access to over 40 players. We didn’t, and we knew that, so we took a chance based on what I knew we were facing. People who win take chances, this one didn’t work, but we are still the John Ross Robertson Cup Champions for the fourth year in a row,” added Robertson.

Hamilton Tigers, who captured the Ontario Hockey Association Senior championship 10 times between 1919 and 1948, won the Allan Cup only once. Between 1942 and 1948, the club won the OHA title six times, five of those consecutively, 1944 to 1948. Three times (1919, 1931, and 1946) during their existence, from 1918 to 1954 the Tigers were in the Allan Cup playoff, but only once won the prize.

The Real McCoys, on the other hand, have been in existence for 11 years, and during that time, they have been to the Allan Cup Tournament six times, four consecutive times since the 2007-08 season. The club has won the OHA Senior AAA title, an impressive seven times during that stretch.

Since the McCoys formation in 2000, it has played 326 regular season games, winning 186, losing 112 with two ties, and 26 overtime losses. The best season for the McCoys was 2001-02 when it posted 26 wins and six losses in 32 games. In the spring of 2003, the McCoys played host to the Allan Cup Tournament. It was their second appearance in the competition.

“Our guys paid a huge price to take a week off work to represent our community, and they did it well, some don’t live here, but they represent our community well, and we should be thankful. They also worked their guts out a time zone away from home,” said Robertson.

“Our goaltending (Jeff Maund and Bryan Worosz) was as good as anybodies, and our organization was well respected from the time we got there. Nobody had players play as hard as we did, we just didn’t have enough guys there at the start, which cost us the Allan Cup.”

Against the Caribous, Jerry Galway scored on a powerplay with 10 second left to play to end goalkeeper Jason Churchill’s shutout bid. Dale Sullivan, Ryan Delaney, Chris Sparks, and Brad Crann scored for Clarenville.

Mark Jooris opened the scoring for Dundas against East Prairie Thunder with Cam Watson and Ryan Christie adding the others. Dundas won in spite of being outshot 55-26. Maund for his efforts was named Player of the Game.

Paul Lawson, Dan Pitre and Watson scored for Dundas in its 4-3 loss to Bentley while in the opener last Monday, Mike Kennedy scored for Dundas on a powerplay in the first three minutes of the second period in the McCoys loss to Kenora. Sean Hughes and Jon Johnson scored twice each for the Thistles with Jeff Richards and Matt Johnson adding singles.