Mac opens soccer title hunt against Cape Breton

McMaster Marauders meet Cape Breton in an opening-round matchup in the 42nd Canadian Interuniversity Sport men’s soccer championship hosted by the University of Victoria.

The Ontario University Athletics champions will meet the Capers on Thursday (Nov. 10) at 1.30 p.m. Eastern Time.

The eight-team, single-elimination tournament culminates on Sunday with the gold-medal final. All 11 games from the competition will be webcast live by SSN Canada.

Joining the host Victoria Vikes in B.C.’s capital later this week will be the Saint Mary’s Huskies (AUS playoff champions), Montreal Carabins (RSEQ champions), McMaster, Alberta Golden Bears (Canada West champions), Cape Breton Capers (AUS regular season champions), McGill Redmen (RSEQ finalists) and Toronto Varsity Blues (OUA finalists).

New national champions will be crowned on Sunday as the York Lions, who claimed their second Sam Davidson memorial trophy in three years in 2010, were upset by the Varsity Blues this past weekend at the OUA Final Four.

Thursday’s CIS quarter-finals will see Saint Mary’s face McGill at 11 a.m. (Pacific), Alberta battle Toronto at 1:30 p.m. (Pacific), McMaster against Cape Breton, and Montreal against Victoria at 7 p.m. (Pacific).

The winners move on to Friday’s semis, while the losers resume play on the consolation side of the bracket, also on Friday.

Half of the participating teams have hoisted the Davidson trophy in the past including Alberta (4), Victoria (4), McGill (3) and Toronto (4).


Saint Mary’s Huskies (AUS playoff champions: 4-3-6 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)
Montreal Carabins (RSEQ champions: 8-1-3 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
McMaster Marauders (OUA champions: 10-2-4 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)
Alberta Golden Bears (CWUAA champions: 7-3-4 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
Cape Breton Capers (AUS regular season champions: 10-1-2 regular season / 0-1 playoffs)
McGill Redmen (RSEQ finalists: 7-3-2 regular season / 1-1 playoffs)
Toronto Varsity Blues (OUA finalists: 10-2-2 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)
Victoria Vikes (Championship hosts: 10-2-2 regular season / 1-1 playoffs).