Two Mountaineers named OCAA rugby all-stars

Mohawk’s Phil Jackson (Stoney Creek) and Eric Moyer (Brantford) have been selected to the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association men’s Division 1 select team, while Mountaineers Rebecca Halliwell and Raquel Rose were named women’s All-Stars.

Second-year fly half Matt Raguseo (Stouffville) is the 2011 OCAA Division I men’s rugby player of the year.

Raguseo was the leading scorer on the undefeated Seneca Sting (5-0-0) this past regular season, scoring three tries, 15 converts and two penalty kicks for 51 points. Raguseo is praised for his leadership skills both on and off the field. He is now a two-time OCAA all-star, after earning the scoring championship in the East region last season.

His teammate, Jesse Lofthouse (Stouffville) is this year’s Division I rookie of the year. The outside centre was a consistent offensive threat in 2011, leading the Sting with six tries. Lofthouse was second on the team in scoring with 34 total points.

Seneca’s Bob McArthur is the Division I coach of the year. McArthur led the Sting to their first perfect regular season since 2007 when they went 8-0-0. It marked a dramatic improvement of Seneca’s 4-3-0 record in 2010. Seneca led Division I in points against with 39, and was second in scoring with 212 points.

Humber’s Phil Boone (Brampton) is the Division I scoring champion. The second-year fly half led OCAA with 86 points, nine tries and 19 converts. He joins Raguseo as a two-time OCAA all-star.

Other OCAA all-stars include Wes MacDonald and Lucas McIvor (Guelph) of Conestoga; Brendan McDougall (Bailieboro) and Greg Power (Oshawa) of Fleming-Peterborough; Humber’s Jason Chuck (Mississauga); Seneca’s Jarrett Hamilton (Guelph); and Adam Anderson (Peterborough) and Graham Abbott (Consecon) of Trent.