Five Marauders selected All-Canadians

VANCOUVER – Five McMaster Marauders were named Canadian Interuniversity Sport football All-Canadians – two on the first all-star team – for 2011.

Wide receiver Michael DiCroce and placekicker Tyler Crapigna represent the Marauders on the first team. DiCroce, the Ontario University Athletics player of the year, topped all CIS receivers with 904 yards through the air.

On the CIS second team all-star squad, Marauder quarterback Kyle Quinlan leads the pack. He was joined by tackle Matthew Sewell and guard Jason Medeiros. On the second team Special Teams squad, Hamilton resident Darryl Wheeler, who kicks for Western, was named.

The Canada West champion Calgary Dinos dominated the overall tally with eight all-Canadians, including three on the first team and five on the second unit.

The Marauders will play the Laval Rouge et Or for the Vanier Cup, Canada’s university championship, on Friday (Nov. 25).

Leading the first CIS squad on offence is UBC quarterback Billy Greene, the Canada West player of the year. He is joined by running backs Steven Lumbala of Calgary and Anthony Coombs of Manitoba, wide receivers Simon Charbonneau-Campeau of Sherbrooke, DiCroce, inside receivers Jordan Brescacin of Windsor and Michael Squires of Acadia, tackles Kirby Fabien of Calgary and Burlington’s Brendan Dunn of Western, guards Matthew Norman of Western and Brett Jones of Regina, as well as centre Pierre Lavertu of Laval.

Charbonneau-Campeau and Norman are the only returnees from last year’s first offensive squad.

On defence, the first all-Canadian team is comprised of tackles Stefan Charles of Regina and Seamus Postuma of Windsor, ends Akiem Hicks of Regina and Arnaud Gascon-Nadon of Laval, linebackers Max Caron of Concordia, Sam Hurl of Calgary and Kevin Régimbald Gagné of Sherbrooke, halfbacks Cameron Wade of Acadia and Beau Landry of Western, cornerbacks Dominic Noël of Laval and Kayin Marchand-Wright of Saint Mary’s, as well as safety Teague Sherman of Manitoba.

Gascon-Nadon is the lone returning player from last year’s top defensive unit.

On special teams, Regina punter Chris Bodnar, Crapigna, and Concordia returner Kris Robertson make up the first CIS squad.