Banquet wraps up Marauders glories

The Marauder football team held its annual team awards banquet last weekend and, with the Yates Cup, Uteck Bowl, and Vanier Cup trophies all prominently on display, there was a lot to celebrate. The affair brought together over 300 members of the Marauder football family, including players, coaches, support staff, family, and friends.

The evening also included a keynote address from former Olympic cyclist and Marauder parent Gord Singleton, the debut of the 2011season highlight video, and the presentation of the team’s individual awards.

Those awards included:

Rookie of the Year (Offense) – Chris Pezzetta
Rookie of the Year (Defense) – Nick Shorthill
Most Improved Player (Defense) – Steve Ventresca
Most Improved Player (Offense) – Robert Babic
Defensive Lineman Award- Roberto Filice
Offensive Lineman Award- Matt Sewell
Special Teams Most Valuable Player – Tyler Crapigna
Offensive Most Valuable Player – Mike DiCroce and Kyle Quinlan (co-winners)
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Ryan Chmielewski and Aram Eisho (co-winners)
Coaches’ Award (Leadership, Dedication, Commitment) – Matt Peressini

McMaster head coach Stefan Ptazsek also made a special presentation to assistant coach Ryan Loveday, who has done a fantastic job as the team’s film and scout team coordinator for the past three seasons. Loveday will be leaving the Marauders upon his graduation from McMaster’s Civil Engineering and Management program this year and he has accepted a position with an engineering firm in the Kitchener-Waterloo region.