105th Yates Cup is astronomical

HAMILTON, Ont. – The No. 5 nationally ranked Guelph Gryphons travel to Hamilton on Saturday to take on the No. 1 McMaster Marauders in the 105th Yates Cup. Here is a look at Yates Cup stats and figures from around Ontario University Athletics.

4,058 – The number of regular season passing yards collected by the starting quarterbacks in the 105th Yates Cup. McMaster pivot Kyle Quinlan (South Woodslee) threw for 2,457 yards to finish second in the OUA, while Jazz Lindsey (Markham) finished sixth after throwing for 1,601.

3 – The number of times the Guelph Gryphons have been Yates Cup champions. Guelph’s first title came in 1984 and was followed by championship wins in 1992 and 1996.

48.6 – The weight in pounds of the Yates Cup. The trophy is 28 1/4 inches tall and features a wood base with seven levels, with name plates recognizing the champions of the 104 previous Yates Cups, with a bowl on top commemorating the donation of cup in 1898 by H.B. Yates.

20 – The number of OUA all-stars competing in the 2012 Yates Cup. The impressive all-star class is headlined by Marauders Quinlan and offensive linemen Matt Sewell (Milton) and Jason Medeiros (Hamilton), plus Gryphons running back Rob Farquharson and linebacker John Rush (both Niagara Falls).

5 – The number of times McMaster has hoisted the Yates Cup. The Marauders are defending champions looking to win consecutive titles for the first time since the Western Mustangs won back-to-back titles in 2007 and 2008. The Marauders also won four consecutive titles from 2000-2003.

19 – The number of consecutive wins posted by the Marauders, dating back to Sept. 10, 2011. The last team to defeat the Marauders was the Western Mustangs who triumphed 48-21 last season in week two. The number ties the Canadian Interuniversity Sport record for consecutive games won.

16 – The number of interceptions collected by the Guelph Gryphons defence in the 2012 regular season. The Gryphons had 10 different players who collected an interception, led by Bryan Dunjko (Aurora) who had three.

2 – The number of Yates Cup games won by the 2012 Yates Cup head coaches during their playing careers. Stefan Ptaszek hoisted the trophy as a member of the Laurier Golden Hawks in 1991. Stu Lang tasted victory as a receiver for the Queen’s Golden Gaels in 1970.

12447 – The number of the asteroid named after the Yates Cup. 12447 was discovered in 1996 and named Yatescup by brothers Robert and Peter Jedicke. Robert was a member of the Western Mustangs football team that won the Yates Cup in 1981 and 1982.