Silver Fox MVP family tradition for Clarkes

SilverFox_logoBrody Clarke scored 22 points to lead the Toronto Oakwood Barons to a 60-48 victory over the Thornlea Thunder of Thornhill in the championship game of the 43rd Teacher’s Life Silver Fox Invitational high school basketball tournament on Saturday (Feb. 1).

Clarke was named the Hamilton tournament’s MVP – an award his father, Norm, and brother, Julian, also received during their playing careers.

The Silver Fox championship at Saltfleet District was the eighth in Oakwood’s history.

Kadeem Smithen, with 19 points, was the top scorer in the final for Thornlea.

Twenty-four teams took part in the three-day competition.

The first-team all-stars were: Clarke, Oakwood; Shymar Brewster, Ottawa Merivale; Calvin Epistola, Oakwood; Cameron Crieghtney, Thornlea; Smithen, Thornlea. The second team included: Brandon Chevannes, Etobicoke Father Henry Carr; Shamiel Stevenson, Oakville Holy Trinity; Umed Hyderi, Merivale; Jordan Henry, Pickering Pine Ridge; Chase Vassell, Pine Ridge.

The Hamilton Spectator 3-point shooting champion was Tesloth Simon of Kitchener St. Mary’s. The Ron Koveljenic Fair Play Award went to Jordan Sobot of Burlington Nelson and the Tournament Director Defensive Player Award was presented to Russell Baker of Oakwood.

The winner of the Bob Knuckle Academic Award (sponsored by Teacher’s Life) was Nicholas Lapore of St. Thomas More.

Saturday results

Chatham Kent 57 (Ian Smart 12) Hamilton Westmount 56 (Nemanja Ilic 14)

St. Thomas More 55 (Ryan Doornick 15) Windsor Herman 49 (Shawon Anderson 12)

Oakville Holy Trinity 60 (Nick Ernest 20) St. Jean de Brebeuf 51 (Rommel Calura 18)

Etobicoke Father Henry Carr 70 (Marcus Bonnick 14) Burlington Nelson 58 (Filip Vujadinovic 22)

SEMI FINAL — Toronto Oakwood 72 (Calvin Epistola 19) Pickering Pine Ridge 49 (Chase Vassell 19)

SEMI FINAL – Thornhill Thornlea 57 (Kevin Metelus 13) Ottawa Merivale 39 (Cam Crieghtney 15)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier Final

Hamilton Westmount vs. Windsor Herman was not played

Roach-Towler Final

Hamilton St. Thomas More 62 (Jaylen Clarke 21) Chatham Kent 55 (Ian Smart 22)

MacLean Newton Final

Burlington Nelson 71 (Filip Vujadinovic 21) Hamilton Brebeuf 61 (Mohan Kazi 13)

Joe Raso Final

Etobicoke Father Henry Carr 48 (Grant Audu 15) Oakville Holy Trinity 45 (Shamiel Stevenson 12)

Ken Ormerod Final (3rd place)

Ottawa Merivale 71 (Kevin Metelus 17) Pickering Pine Ridge 61 (Chase Vassell 24)